April 6, 2011

Commission on Higher Education cites 14 higher education institutions

Commission on Higher Education cites 14 higher education institutions

MANILA, Philippines - A total of 14 higher education institutions (HEIs) from both public and private sectors were recently recognized by the Commission on Higher Education (CHEd) for their outstanding extension programs.

Through the conduct of the 2010 Outstanding HEI Extension Program Award, these HEIs were awarded for offering programs that enhance productivity, generating employment and reducing poverty.

CHEd Chairperson Patricia Licuanan said that the award aims to recognize and reward both the implementer and the higher education institutions for their outstanding extension programs. "We also want to encourage conduct of extension work that is relevant and responsive to the needs of the community and society and to promote appreciation of the importance of the extension functions of HEIs," she explained.

The 14 regional winners received P300,000.00 cash prize and plaque of recognition. The extension program "UPLB Bee Program" of the University of the Philippines in Los Baños has been identified as the national winner.

"The National Winner was identified from the roster of regional winners and received a trophy and cash prize of one million pesos from the agency," Licuanan said.

The following HEIs that have been chosen as regional winners for their extension programs include Mariano Marcos State University (Region 1) for its "Achieving Food Sovereignty through Sustainable Entrepreneural Development (Food SSEnD) Program for Rural Household"; Isabela State University (Region II) for its "Rural Enterprise Development Through Innovative Goat Production Systems: The case of Cagayan Valley Small Ruminants Research Center's Extension Program"; Central Luzon State University (Region III) for its "Renewable Energy Extension Program: Capacity Building and Poverty Alleviation Strategies for Regional and National Development"; University of the Philippines Los Baños (Region IV-A) for its "UPLB Bee Program"; Universidad de Sta. Isabel (Region V) for its "BUHAI-CES Program- Building Communities Through Unified Efforts and Holistic Approach in the Implementation of Community Extension Service"; Aklan State University (Region VI) for its "Isla Kapispisan Mangrove Reforestation, Aquasilbi Culture and Eco-Tourism Program"; Silliman University (Region VII) for its "Alternative Lifestyles for Women in Negros (ALL for WIN)"; Jose Rizal Memorial State University (Region IX) "Rubber-Based Farming System Towards a Secure Tampilisan"; Mindanao State University (Region X) for its ICT Integration in Education - IIT; Davao del Norte State College (Region XI) for its "Development Interventions in the Island Garden City of Samal: DNSC-DED Project Cooperation" University of Southern Mindanao (Region XII) for its "Asset-based, Co-existence Driven and Friendly (A2F) Extension Program"; Benguet State University (CAR) for its "Increasing Strawberry Productivity Through Tissue-Cultures Runners (TCR)"; Surigao del Sur State University (CARAGA) for its "Coastal Resource Management (CRM) in Lianga Bay: The Surigao del Sur State University - Lianga Campus Extension Program" and Technological University of the Philippines (NCR) for its "Technology Promotion on the Use of Renewable Energy, Clean Technologies and Energy Efficient System."

The Outstanding HEI Extension Program Award was established in 2008 to recognize the role that extension contributes to the fulfillment of the national thrust to mobilize knowledge and technology towards enhancing productivity, generating employment and reducing poverty.

"The HEIs have been actively conducting extension programs/projects, particularly transfer and/or application of technology/knowledge that contributes to the attainment of the country's development goals," Licuanan ended.

Yahoo News!